Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Anthrage

Crowfall's Combat System is Flawed

So, I've been gaming for 42 years. Since I was 5. My father was a computer system's analyst at Canadian National Railway and the programmers there had used company computer resources - a very different thing then than it is now - to create a text-based adventure game, a MUD as it was called, using a complicated text parser which all of the programmers in the office at the time worked on. The really interesting thing was, this game was developed over more than a decade, with coders adding to it over time as they came and went.

There was no central design document or any tracking of who added what, so over time, the various rooms and solutions to the challenges presented became mysteries to even the people working on it...there were rooms that no-one currently working there had any idea how to solve, and the whole office would work on a particular problem for weeks or months in some cases. It was a crazy thing to consider, and quite epic, until someone at the corporate level noticed the unexplained but considerable use of system resources and shut the whole thing down. They didn't even archive it in any way, like a mad fever dream it was just gone, leaving behind only it's influence on everyone it touched.