Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
buhbuhcuh

Crowfall Bluesky Design Series Part 1 - Level-less

This is part of an on-going series of design rants. I make games for a living, and while this is not my game, I'm probably not going to work on an MMO for some time. I've been collecting thoughts for a while about the genre, and this seems like a perfect place to spew them out.

Part 1 - Level-less

The MMO tradition has evolved from pen and paper RPGs designed 40 years ago. A lot of the elements that make up the modern RPG are really not very modern - and prime amongst these is the idea of the character level. 

896T.jpg

Levels exist for two closely related reasons. First, they provide a clear progression path - if nothing else, the player knows that the number should go up, and they are taught early on that killing monsters will make that number increase. Secondly, by associating levels with character complexity, it gives a nice ramp for the player to learn how to play the game without being overwhelmed at first by too many choices.

The pen and paper RPG was designed to stretch a small number of levels across a huge ammount of play time. If you manage to make it to level 30 in D&D, you might have been playing that character for years, and your player is essentially godlike. MMO design breaks from this in two ways - to get that regular reward schedule working, the DING happens on a session-by-session basis. Secondly, the designers don't want to let you break the game, so you never reach that godlike power level, instead you hit..

Endgame