Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
xary

Thoughts and Ideas on Faction Play

Just one crows opinion. Not trying to say anything negative about the current game.

The game is shaping up very nicely and I am enjoying the pvp when found outside of timed siege play. Here are a few items that I feel could enhance specifically Faction play. Most of this has been done in DAOC which is where my main experience comes from. Again this is just my thoughts. They may have addressed all of this to everyone’s satisfaction already. If so. Great!

1)      One thing that made RvR great was ‘Realm Pride’. The idea that Midgard, Albion or Hibernia were the mortal enemy. They weren’t your friends, pals, compadres. They wanted to harm you. The phrase “RED IS DEAD” was popular in the beginning. I’d like to see a reason to play one faction over the other. What makes Chaos unique? Order? Balance? (I’m not good with actual suggestions) Perhaps a specific Realm ability? Item? Look? Buff? Something that sets them apart and obviously not game breaking.

2)      Unique classes. I don’t feel anyone has ever come close to matching the true diversity DAOC provided. However, this all goes back to point #1. Something that makes them unique is needed. I know they are not going to change the design to add faction only classes. Here’s hoping that the discipline system will come close to making them unique. I have my doubts.

3)      Unique fort design? Keep design? Besides just copy and paste and then slapping a banner on something make it unique. I believe I did see something from a while ago that eluded to this. Make areas unique to the factions as they claim areas, towers, camps, forts and keeps.