Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Tooltip

5.8 Crafting Primer - Making better items

Howdy all,

I was recently asked on Reddit how to make better items in response to a post. I started the reply and it got sort of long, so I thought I'd throw it up here and link it instead. I'm sure I've missed some stuff so please feel free to make any corrections / suggestions, I'd really appreciate it! I should mention I joined in 5.8 so I'm by no means an expert and this reflects my meager knowledge.

This primer will assume you have some idea as to which profession you're interested in. 

First off, here's one of the devs walking through crafting changes in the current patch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URZC4k0b_nM Watch it and don't worry if you don't fully understand everything right off the bat. It's still good to see the UI and all that.

Generally, crafting improvements (making better stuff) come from 2 places:

Account Training
Your passive account training (click Skills at the top of the screen from character select or press esc, then the dumbbell icon from in game). There you begin your account training and can invest points in a particular crafting path (start this early!). To focus on crafting, select the crafting basics tree and start spending points to unlock the professions you're interested in. Once you get to the actual crafting tree node you want, you'll notice several branches you can invest in.

All crafting trees have 5 primary branches, 4 of which split into 2. From top to bottom, they deal with:
  1. Experimentation
    1. Success
    2.  Points

2. Assembly
    1. Success
    2. Speed

3. Recipes

4. Mass Production
    1. Thrall durability
    2. Quality of Thrall