Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
DiamondDog

[Opinion] Not a fan of the passive skill system

Posted (edited)

I'm new to the alpha so i might be missing something but the passive system is kinda a bummer. I feel like i should just go play another game until i have more skill points, sure i can harvest and kill things but I like crafting and my skill in crafting is based on how long my character has been created? 

I don't feel connected to my own progress... I know this may be for balance (Which IS super important) but I just feel like there is no challenge to rank up skills. I'll be a master woodworker in (X) days regardless of what i do. I never have to cut down a single tree.... ???

Maybe some sort of hybrid would work? Passive combat skills/ active crafting skils??? No idea really...   

Personally I'd love it if my crafting skills for leather were only ranked up with leather crafting. Tree chopping by cutting down trees, etc... Anyways just an opinion.  

I really do love the old SWG crafting style =D Looking forward to watching this game grow. Keep up the great work guys!  

EDIT: I play on 'God's reach'

Edited by DiamondDog

try joining a campaign against maxed crafters as a fresh account... after 2 days you will lose the rest of the fights for the campaign.. gear/vessel>class>your skill... you need to make friends in this game as a late comer or its GG. passive wipe will help but it will all happen again in time. with no friends go farm gold and buy crafting gear.. its the best way to progress your crafting fast.

Congratulations Your The 1 Millionth person to make this exact thread.

Your reward!? The same sarcastic retorts as all the others and the ability to not carry on this conversation in any meaningful way since everyone else has already talked this topic into the ground a billion times over.

Welcome To the Forums, you will find the search bar in the top right of the page.