Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
bruskie

Shadowbane has ruined MMORPGS for me

when I was 15 years old I started playing Everquest in high school. I learned about shadowbane and waited  a year to get into the last round of the beta. then it was on! I loved shadowbane, there is nothing like it, and I am afraid there will never be a game like it. since SB went down. it forced me to get a life =P. got married, started a career  and tried every single MMO out there. I have been let down so many times. by so many Developers. I have high hopes for this game..... but I had high hopes for Dark fall...  

Did SB ruin games for you? what is your burn out now on MMO's? mine is about a month. 

PS and my barbs!

Same story here. :(  I was 20 when Shadowbane released, a teenager when I first heard of it.  Was playing Everquest, my first MMO, at the time.  Once I saw Shadowbane coming, I quit EQ within the next month or so.  This was at a time when MMORPGs didn't have a tried and true template; pre-WoW.  I didn't know how unique SB would be, because I had just assumed that this amazing sort of gameplay was the direction MMORPGs were evolving.

I had taken SB for granted.  There has never come a game that offered the same things in terms of quintessentially dynamic GvG.  Games have been in the same vein, such as Darkfall or Mortal Online, but with limited success.  They've been inadequate for a slew of reasons: technological incapability, limited budgets, low skilled artists/animators, or downright flawed game design.  E.g. Yes, Darkfall offered cities and sieges; however, they were in predetermined locations, greatly limited, with predetermined structure placement, and half-baked siege mechanics. 

I'm hoping to positively influence the game, conceptually and in various other creative ways, into becomming something fans of that political/diplomatic/alliance/subterfuge/betrayal/war/META-PHATNESS would love.